2018 Municipal Election Result in GTA

From left; John Tory, Framk Scarpitti, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Patrick Brown, Bonnie Crombie


2018 Municipal Election Result in GTA


Oct. 27, 2018

Global Korean Post



The 2018 municipal election was held in Ontario on Oct. 22, 2018.


Each city has elected new council members for 2018-2022.

Ontario’s eligible voters participated in electing their mayors, councillors, and school trustees during the voting period.


In light of the election results of GTA, most of incumbent council members were successfully elected.


In Toronto, the current Mayor John Tory is re-elected and he will take his second term for a Mayor of Toronto.  Tory received 479,659 votes (63.49%) and Jennifer Keesmaat,178,193 votes (23.59%).

In Markahm, Mayor Frank Scarpitti is also re-elected for his fourth term as a Mayor of Markham since 2006.  He received 55,553 votes, 74.9 per cent of the ballots cast.

In Brampton, Patrick Brown succeed to be a Mayor for the first time after resigning the former president of Ontario PC Party.  He received 46,894 votes, 44.43% per cent of the ballots cast.

In Vaughan, Mayor Bevilacqua set to lead his third term of council. He obtained 37,072 votes (70.70%). A total of 54,434 voters cast ballots and voting turnout is 27.02%.


In Mississauga, Bonnie Crombie received 91,422 votes (76.7%).   A total of 119,299 voters cast ballots.


By Global Korean post

ⓒGlobal Korean Post