Trudeau unveils new cabinet including 7 rookies

New members of the 29th Canadian Ministry. 새 내각에 임명된 장관들과 총리 및 총독의 단체 사진. (캐나다 총리실)


Trudeau unveils new cabinet including 7 rookies

Swearing-in ceremony of new cabinet on Nov. 20


Nov. 22, 2019

Global Korean Post


The swearing-in ceremony of members of the 29th Canadian Ministry took place at Rideau Hall in Ottawa on Nov. 20 at 1:30 p.m.

The Prime Minister held a media availability after the swearing-in ceremony.


The Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, announced the members of Cabinet following the swearing-in ceremony.


The current Ministry consists of the Prime Minister and 36 ministers.

The members of the Cabinet are:

  • Chrystia Freeland becomes Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Anita Anand becomes Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  • Navdeep Bains becomes Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Carolyn Bennett remains Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau remains Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Bill Blair becomes Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Bardish Chagger becomes Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth
  • François-Philippe Champagne becomes Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Jean-Yves Duclos becomes President of the Treasury Board
  • Mona Fortier becomes Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance
  • Marc Garneau remains Minister of Transport
  • Karina Gould becomes Minister of International Development
  • Steven Guilbeault becomes Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Patty Hajdu becomes Minister of Health
  • Ahmed Hussen becomes Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Mélanie Joly becomes Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages
  • Bernadette Jordan becomes Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • David Lametti remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
  • Dominic LeBlanc becomes President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada
  • Diane Lebouthillier remains Minister of National Revenue
  • Lawrence MacAulay remains Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
  • Catherine McKenna becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Marco E. L. Mendicino becomes Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Marc Miller becomes Minister of Indigenous Services
  • Maryam Monsef becomes Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development
  • Bill Morneau remains Minister of Finance
  • Joyce Murray becomes Minister of Digital Government
  • Mary Ng becomes Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
  • Seamus O’Regan becomes Minister of Natural Resources
  • Carla Qualtrough becomes Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion
  • Pablo Rodriguez becomes Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  • Harjit Sajjan remains Minister of National Defence
  • Deb Schulte becomes Minister of Seniors
  • Filomena Tassi becomes Minister of Labour
  • Dan Vandal becomes Minister of Northern Affairs
  • Jonathan Wilkinson becomes Minister of Environment and Climate Change


The Government of Canada represents Canadians in every part of the country. That is why the Prime Minister has asked Jim Carr to serve as his special representative for the Prairies. Born and raised in Winnipeg, he will ensure that the people of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba have a strong voice in Ottawa.


Pablo Rodriguez will be assuming the responsibility of Quebec Lieutenant.

Canadians expect their Parliamentarians to work together on their behalf. Under the leadership of Government House Leader Pablo Rodriguez, the following team will work with all parties to make progress on the priorities that matter most to Canadians:

  • Kirsty Duncan will serve as Deputy Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  • Mark Holland will serve as Chief Government Whip
  • Ginette Petitpas Taylor will serve as Deputy Government Whip
  • Kevin Lamoureux will serve as Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons


The Prime Minister also announced changes to the structure and mandate of the Cabinet committees to reflect Canadians’ top priorities. The new list of Cabinet committees is as follows:

  • Cabinet Committee on Agenda, Results and Communications
  • Cabinet Committee on Operations
  • Cabinet Committee on Global Affairs and Public Security
  • Cabinet Committee on Reconciliation
  • Cabinet Committee on Economy and the Environment
  • Cabinet Committee on Health and Social Affairs
  • Treasury Board
  • Incident Response Group