President requests support for inter-Korean peace at EAS

President requests support for inter-Korean peace at EAS


Nov. 8, 2019

Global Korean Post


By Oh Hyun Woo and Kim Hwaya

President Moon Jae-in on Nov. 4 asked for “constant” global support and cooperation for the denuclearization of and a permanent peace on the Korean Peninsula at the 14th East Asia Summit (EAS) in Bangkok, Thailand.

“Without international support and cooperation, the denuclearization of and a permanent peace on the Korean Peninsula are not possible,” he said, adding, “I think that if North Korea takes a sincere step, international society should present corresponding actions.”


“Peace on the Korean Peninsula will contribute to the peace and prosperity of countries in East Asia, ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) and the Pacific,” the president said. “I request that the EAS takes joint action in turning the Demilitarized Zone into an international peace zone.”


Welcoming the ASEAN Outlook on the Indo-Pacific adopted in June by ASEAN heads of state and supporting the region’s centrality, openness, inclusiveness, transparency and a framework that respects international rules, he said, “Korea wants to form a prosperous community with countries in ASEAN and the Indo-Pacific region under our New Southern Policy and further strengthen connectivity with ASEAN through the ASEAN-ROK (Republic of Korea) Commemorative Summit and the inaugural Korea-Mekong Summit in Busan.”


President Moon said that last year, Korea joined the Indian Ocean Rim Association as a dialogue partner and launched the ROK-Pacific Islands Trade and Tourism Promotion Project, adding, “We will lend our support for win-win cooperation in the Indo-Pacific region while considering the diversity of visions for regional cooperation.”


Founded in 2005 to form an East Asian community based on the recommendations of the East Asia Vision Group and the East Asia Study Group, the EAS comprises 18 countries: the ten member states of ASEAN — Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam — and Australia, China, Japan, India, New Zealand, Korea, Russia and the U.S.