Eight candidates present for the next Director-General of WTO


Eight candidates present for the next Director-General of WTO


July 18, 2020

Global Korean Post

The eight candidates nominated for the post of WTO Director-General met with members on 15-17 July at a meeting of the General Council.

Each candidate made a brief presentation to members, including their vision for the WTO, followed by a question-and-answer period.


The eight candidates made their presentations in the order in which their candidatures were received. The eight candidates are:

  • Dr Jesús Seade Kuri (Mexico)
  • Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (Nigeria)
  • Mr Abdel-Hamid Mamdouh (Egypt)
  • Mr Tudor Ulianovschi (Moldova)
  • Ms Yoo Myung-hee (Republic of Korea)
  • Ms Amina C. Mohamed (Kenya)
  • Mr Mohammad Maziad Al-Tuwaijri (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
  • Dr Liam Fox (United Kingdom)


Each candidate was invited to make a brief opening presentation. This was followed by a question-and-answer period of no more than one hour and fifteen minutes.  During the last five minutes of the question-and-answer period, candidates had the opportunity to make a concluding statement if they so wished.

After their presentations at the General Council, each candidate held a press conference at the WTO. These press conferences were webcast live on the WTO website.


The eight candidates were nominated by their respective governments to succeed the current Director-General, Roberto Azevêdo, who announced in May that he would step down on 31 August.

"홈으로 이동하기" Click and Move to HOME -->